“Make your own Bible. Select and collect all the words and sentences that in all your readings have been to you like the blast of a trumpet.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Came across this compelling quote last week over on And the Moon Sees All.  (thanks!)  I’ve been a bit reluctant to write lately because I’ve been wanting to reduce nearly everything to a rant against religion.  And with the internet freakishly immortalizing every word we post online, sometimes waiting isn’t such a bad idea.   Because whose mind doesn’t shift with time & new ways of thinking?  And who hasn’t occasionally pushed publish or send then lived to regret it?

That said, I just love Emerson’s quote.  ‘Select and collect all the words and sentences that in all your readings have been to you like the blast of a trumpet.’  Ahh, music to my  inspiration junkie heart.  I collect words & pictures fiendishly.

Today’s trumpet blast comes via Psychology Today’s article, ‘Are We Being Ruled By Our Toddler Brains?’  It gives a nice, tight explanation of what happens when our volatile limbic system or Toddler Brain reacts instead of our prefrontal cortex  or Adult Brain.  You know, like when you throw your favourite red mug out the front window at your husband in a fit of hot indignation?  (theoretically, of course.)

Anyways, I’m adding this whole Toddler Brain thing to the first chapter of the new bible I’m writing.  I’m writing it in collaboration with my friend Scott though he doesn’t know it yet.  But he has an excellent trumpet blast also on his blog titled, WWSD.  So I’m thinking he might be into it.

Til then, click over for an  awesome collection of pics of toddlers losing it over nothing.  This one’s my fave.

leghole

 

 

5 thoughts on “

  1. Hey Lori, glad you are writing again. You know that book of psychopathy I told you about? It’s wicked and like everything we both like, is full of brain stuff. Check it out. I mean, if you’re starting your own bible you might want to read up on psychopathy… just kidding but you knew I had to, it was just hanging out there waiting…

Leave a Reply

